The circle of healers (Original one)

So,  Chayah tagged me with revisiting the Circle of Healers questionnaire by Miss Medicina. There is just one tiny problem with it. I never submitted it. Never, ever. I was a starting blogger back then, or even maybe non-existant one and when I found out about the questionnaire, I was never tagged. But guess better late than never and since I was tagged with revisiting it, it is okay for me to visit it in the first place. Amirite?

  • What is the name, class, and spec of your primary healer?

    Rahana, Shaman, restoration

  • What is your primary group healing environment? (i.e. raids, pvp, 5 mans)

    Almost exclusively 10M content, with the daily heroic here and there. I avoid any and all 25M raids, besides Vault of Archavon with guild.

  • What is your favorite healing spell for your class and why?

    Definitely Riptide. I know that Chain Heal is the flagship and all that, but for me, being Shaman is about pouring buckets of water over people and watch the lovely hot numbers pop up on my screen. It’s as well fun to play „keep ‘em rolling“ game.

  • What healing spell do you use least for your class and why?

    Healing Wave. Not that I don’t use it, au contraire I use it pretty often, but still less times than any other spell. Simply because with such long cast time and mana cost it has it’s perfect place and use in my arsenal, so I throw it only when it’s needed / appropriate.

  • What do you feel is the biggest strength of your healing class and why?

    Definitely flexibility and versatility. With one spec, with single change of gear I can switch from full tank healing to full raid healing or stop anywhere between. I have few, but very specific and powerful tools in my healing arsenal and that is one of our strengths – there is hardly more than two spells competing for the best spell to use for any given situation.

  • What do you feel is the biggest weakness of your healing class and why?

    Movement healing. Seriously, we do have one instant spell and one cooldown to make another spell instant. In heavy mobility fights that does not quite cut it. The real saver spells have just under 2 second cast time (no procs taken into consideration) and that is quite some time spent standing in one spot healing.

  • In a 25 man raiding environment, what do you feel, in general, is the best healing assignment for you?

    In 25M raiding? Hm, I will go with the obligatory raid healing, and if the raid is not stacked in some way, then melee group healing. That’s right, lazoring through piles of people really is our strongest forte and it’s quite some fun. I do that currently once a week only though for five minutes, but I can imagine it gets dull and boring in the long run.

  • What healing class do you enjoy healing with most and why?

    Shaman, obviously. Pretty much for being the jack of all trades. Reglyph here, reglyph there, change this and you can heal anything. Does your comp need more tank healing, sure, I’m game. More raid healing you say? Here I come! Do you want „hybrid“ healer for both tasks when needed? Bring it!

  • What healing class do you enjoy healing with least and why?

    I have healed only on Shaman and Paladin, so I can’t really say anything about other classes. However from all the hearsay, I would go with Paladin. It’s not that I don’t like it, it just comes across as plain boring to me. And I miss all my fancy spells. In essence all decisions you will be making is whether to throw a Holy Light or a Holy Light.

  • What is your worst habit as a healer?

    Spending too much time dpsing. It happens mainly in heroic dungeons, but it definitely is bad habit nonetheless. I just get too carried away killing boredom that I often find myself in oshi situations sending everything on cooldown just to pop the Bear back to some reasonable 30K hp from the 1K left. This panic attack is usually started with me thinking – „Wait, who was healing again? OSHI!“

  • What is your biggest pet peeve in a group environment while healing?

    When people yell or otherwise demand heals. It’s my damn job to stare at your healthbar. I well know that you need the heal. If you are not getting it, the chances are you don’t deserve it (standing in bad stuff) or there are some other targets with priority (tanks, healers).

  • Do you feel that your class/spec is well balanced with other healers for PvE healing?

    Oh hell yeah. I think we do have our rightful place out there, what I see as a problem is that the community still sees Shamans as only Chain Heal spammers, while great performing Shaman healer has lot more to offer and can fulfill any task in raid (as I said many times before)

  • What tools do you use to evaluate your own performance as a healer?

    For instant evaluation, body count. If there is more than one person dead in 10M (and not a wipe), then I look at my mana bar. If I have above 50% mana, I quickly replay the fight to the point where said people died and try to figure out whether I could do better. If I could, I apologise. If I couldn’t, I just take mental note for future reference. For chart-evaluation I often go to recount, mainly to check overhealing on fights where better heal placement would matter and then go in-deep through combatlog at WorldOfLogs.com

  • What do you think is the biggest misconception people have about your healing class?

    That all we know is Chain Heal and that we can’t heal tanks. I was once advised by this clever raider to use Chain Heal, because it’s our best spell and I got laughed at few times for saying that I will heal the tank. We are not raid healing Chain Heal machines. In fact, Chain Heal is very specific tool that requires brain to be used to the max potential.

  • What do you feel is the most difficult thing for new healers of your class to learn?

    To master Chain Heal. To actually learn your raid positioning and avatar looks so it’s not often wasted. This relates to aforesaid point with everyone pushing Shaman healers to over using Chain Heal. The second thing, on par with Chain Heal usage, is understanding the complementary utility spells like Purge or Wind Shear and how they can help you as healer.

  • If someone were to try to evaluate your performance as a healer via recount, what sort of patterns would they see (i.e. lots of overhealing, low healing output, etc)?

    Hard to say. Depends on encounter, healer setup etc. I don’t really care about Recount evaluation, all I care about is doing my job. I don’t care about overhealing, output as long as people survive.

  • Haste or Crit and why?

    Haste all the way to the soft cap. Why? Because it’s hands down the strongest stat a Shaman can get. There is a lot of talented crit, but hastening Lesser Healing Wave to one second and Chain Heal to 1.5 seconds makes wonders.

  • What healing class do you feel you understand least?

    I would say Restoration Druids. I am currently levelling a druid to see how the tanking and healing is like on 80, but all the „stack-up-hots and then do what???“ I read about it is confusing for me.

  • What add-ons or macros do you use, if any, to aid you in healing?

    Grid and Clique, TotemTimers, ShieldsUp and PowerAurasClassic. That’s about those I really do use to aid me in healing. Of course, customized UI helps a lot with healing too.

  • Do you strive primarily for balance between your healing stats, or do you stack some much higher than others, and why?

    Piling up haste above everything else – or to put it better way, selectively grabbing gear that has haste amongst its stats. Why? Because it is the most powerful stat. And the rest of the stats in reasonable measure comes with. So why not. It’s a WIN-WIN situation.

To keep the spirit of the Circle of Healers alive, I will tag Rul from Ancestral Knowledge with this questionnaire, so we can spread the circle a bit with Shaman bloggers!

About Rahana

Long time player, former hardcore now casual raider. Talks into everything, does not pay attention to exact theorycraft numbers. View all posts by Rahana

7 responses to “The circle of healers (Original one)

  • Windsoar

    On the who do you like healing with/dislike healing with, I think it’s looking for which classes you like being paired with for content.

    I’ve found paladins the hardest to hook up with in 10-man raiding environments due to our double stacked lack of mobility.

    • Rahana

      That actually makes sense :)

      In that case, I will go with Paladin too. It’s extremely encounter dependant, but with the way people are widespread in 10M instances, Pally+Shammy pretty much lack heavy raid healing capabilities – healing Blood Queen for example in this setup is hard as hell.

  • Charles

    I actually tagged you to do the original questionnaire rather than to revisit it, because I knew you’d not done it and figured you’d have some interesting answers! I also tagged Rul (for the original, not the revisit) in the same post but I don’t think he noticed. So well done and hooray :D

    And yeah, I like the whole riptide “drench” animation too. It’s just hard to call the heal my favourite because it’s … well, it’s so small. It’s really useful and wonderful and synergistic, but without the big numbers flashing across the screen I find it hard to get terribly excited by it :( I’m also not fond of spells with a cooldown.

  • Najica

    Would you care to share your power auras settings? I’m curious if they differ a lot from other peoples.

  • David

    Nice insight.
    Long live the Shamans!

  • Dewayne Pacific

    Just want to say your article is as astonishing. The clarity for your post is just nice and that i can assume you’re a professional in this subject. Well with your permission let me to take hold of your RSS feed to stay up to date with imminent post. Thanks a million and please continue the rewarding work.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

